Chiro going back to school

Greetings to all. I am new on the forum and would really appreciate some input to the following. I am a 39 year old Md/DO prospective student. I am currently studying for the MCAT and will be taking it in July this year. I am a practicing Chiropractor and have been out of school for eight years. Gpa for my doctorate was around a 3.2 with undergrad scores (11 years ago) were higher being around a 3.5. Does anyone have an opinion on how already having a health care doctorate, passing 4 national exams and a state exam and eight years clinical work will play with the selection committee? i am honestly worried that having only four months to study for the mcats after all these years may lead to a less than ideal score. thoughts on DO vs MD? I realize that philosophically speaking, DO may be a better choice, but the schools are farther away and i do have a family here in the area. any insight to my situation would be greatly appreciated. I have read through some posts and they all seem to be helpful and well thought out.

thank you

Welcome to OPM! … Here is my two cents … (And you will get a lot on here) you sound like a good candidate for a DO school, MD might be out of reach with your GPA but it can’t hurt to try. With your GPA going from a 3.5 to a 3.2 does not look the best. From what I understand, they (Adcom) want to see the trend to go up, not down, ie. 3.2 to 3.5. A high MCAT could offset your GPA.

One thing for sure … I would not rush the MCAT unless you can spend the next 3 months totally committed to studying it. I would take a Kaplan/Princeton class as a course refresher and as many practice tests as possible.

Cheer!

Thomas