Classes taken during high school

Hey everyone,

Hopefully this is the right spot for this

I graduated in 2003 with a BS in Electrical Engineering and will soon be starting classes to fill my pre-reqs (I need most of them still, electrical engineering only required 1 quarter of gen chem, and no bio).

I did, however, take a lot of classes at my local community college as a high school student (junior and senior year of high school) through a program in Washington called running start. I completed almost 2 years worth of classes and entered the University of Washington as a freshman my first quarter and became a junior my second quarter.

It looks like the application requires you to fill out any college classes you took during high school under the high school academic year… so what will happen is almost all of my math and science classes will show up under high school, a quarters worth of classes as a freshman, and then all of a sudden I was a junior taking mostly electrical engineering classes with a few math classes every now and then. These are the classes I took while in high school at the CC:

Precalc - 2 quarters

Calc - 3 quarters

Chem - 1 quarter

Physics - 3 quarters (calc based)

Linear Algebra

Diff Equations

English comp

Economics - quarters

Language - 2 quarters

I started taking those classes in 1998. I don’t intend to retake physics (will review for MCAT), but do plan on retaking the first quarter of Chemistry.

How is this going to look on an application followed up by a couple of years of post-bacc most likely completed at a community college? It’s all a little unorthodox… I’m a little worried by the amount of classes taken at community college since I did it before university and then will be doing it again as a post-bacc.

If it matters I had a 3.96 GPA at community college, and a 3.86 GPA at the university

Hey Kevin,

Your GPAs are good, so you don’t have to worry about that.