Cumulative GPA woes Prereqs

Hi all!

This is my first post. I am scheduled to begin an MFA program in the fall which I’m excited about (I saw another MFA’er on the board). My master’s program will last 2 years. I’m wondering how feasible it would be to try to complete all of the prereqs (I have a BA in English) while completing my MFA. Would that be trying to do too much?

Also…I’m 31 and I went back to school 2 years ago to complete my BA. I graduated with honors with a 3.66 from my degree granting institution. But I just calculated my cumulative GPA and it is only a 2.9! So graduating with honors means nothing, huh? Do they really not care about the GPA from the degree granting institution?

• writergyrl Said:
Hi all!

This is my first post. I am scheduled to begin an MFA program in the fall which I'm excited about (I saw another MFA'er on the board). My master's program will last 2 years. I'm wondering how feasible it would be to try to complete all of the prereqs (I have a BA in English) while completing my MFA. Would that be trying to do too much?

Also...I'm 31 and I went back to school 2 years ago to complete my BA. I graduated with honors with a 3.66 from my degree granting institution. But I just calculated my cumulative GPA and it is only a 2.9! So graduating with honors means nothing, huh? Do they really not care about the GPA from the degree granting institution?

Hi wrytergirl and welcome to OPM!

Now my first question...why medicine?

Well, I'm not sure about the cGPA, but if you attending other institutions and didn't do as well as in your degree granting school, that would explain it. All (and I mean all) post-secondary grades are calculated.

The upside is if you haven't taken any sciences, particularly the prereqs, you can work hard and get a high GPA.

I think you really need to figure out what you want to do and go forward. You need to really ask yourself why you want medicine.