Decision to make

Dear fellows, first of all, Happy 2009!

I hold a bachelors´degree from an international university (Adverstising & Journalism). I am already a resident(greencard holder).

As I live in Miami with my family (hubby and 2 kids 3 and 4 y.old), my chances of relocating are minimal. My goal is to apply for the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, which doesn´t transfer or accept any credits earned in accredited intitutions outside US.

Because of that, UM wasn´t my first option for the Pre-Med program ( As I would have to spent 4 years there to get my degree).

Having said that, I enrolled in the Biology - Pre-Med program (2nd degree) in a small catholic university which transferred many credits of classes I was not willing to retake (Humanities).

That would allow me to finish everything in 2 1/2 years, despite the fact that is really close to my house. Well, I have sucessfully finished my first year there. However, while researching about UM Miller School of Medicine, I discovered that almost 90% of the students accepted come from their own Undergraduate program.

That really made me think of transferring to UM.

I applied, I was admitted and I don´t know what to do because I would have to spend almost 2 years more there, although I believe it is a better program than the one I am enrolled right now.

I know I should be so concerned about time and I shouldn´t be in a hurry. However, my husband is very worrid about it.

What should I do?

Thanks a lot!

FF

FF,

Right off, let me be the first to welcome you to OPM, also I would like to be the first to give you a little encouragement and perhaps a bit of advice!

My initial assessment is that you have impressed me with your self assessment skills and honestly your “EGO” is correctly positioned, using new data you seem to be willing to scrap the present plan, make a better one and then start out with a palpable sense of determination.