Determined and frustrated

Hello everyone. First off, I’d like to extend my gratitude for having a support network like OldPreMeds, it’s so good to see that I’m not alone with the types of issues non-trads can run into.
I’ve read a few posts relating to similar issues such as mine, I’d just like to get some advise on my problem…
I’m 31 y/o with 3 small children (all boys). I was in the service for 5 years on active duty, worked as a paramedic (both on an ambulance and in the emergency room) with an AAS, returned to school and now have a BS in biomedical science. I took the MCAT twice already. First time was an absolute embarrassment. The second time was a frustrating score of 24, in which I applied to 8 schools. Of those, 5 requested secondary apps, but no interviews. It’s been a year, now, and I am studying hard for yet another go at it in August. I am absolutely determined to get in. My wife is behind me, but I’ve been told to just give up by others. I believe that giving up now would be a huge mistake.
My questions are these: Am I doing the right thing by taking the MCAT for a third time, or should I just re-apply with what I’ve got? Would it be better to re-apply to different schools or the same ones but more of them? Any thoughts or suggestions?

Just want to put this out there, since you can only take the MCAT 3 times then if you still have trouble think about the Caribbean schools like ROSS, SGU, AUC and SABA, they have good track records and 3 of them federal student loans.

Also you spend 18 months on the islands not 4 years, the rest of med school is in the states.

You may still be able to get into a program in the US though, don’t give up!

David,
When you applied to medical school before, did you spread a wide net? Did you check the MCAT and GPA ranges at the schools to which you applied? And what about your gpa? Did you apply to any osteopathic schools? Before taking the MCAT a third time, consider those things.