disclosing a brain injury, have 3.98 GPA, but family says be realistic.

Hello all,

I am so grateful to have found you. You are a breeze of fresh hope!

I am 37, I have a terrible undergraduate gpa of 2.75 in psychology. I had a husband that began to suffer from serious mental illness after my freshman. year. My gpa was great, then I went into survial mode. I worked nights until 6:00am, would get 3-5 hours of sleep and then go to class. I quickly realized my current life would not allow for medicine. I was crushed. It has been my dream since I can remember. I graduated which my family was amazed. I worked and cared for a serious declining husband…

Then my husband decided to make other choices… I was free. I quit my job with the state, went back to school, opened a coffee shop to sell so I could pay for school later, volunteered 30+ hours in the trauma center and was flying!

One day five hours after my last shift in the Truama center, I was in a head-on collision. I entered the same Trauma center I had left five hours ealier with a Glasco scale of 1. My team didn’t recognize my swollen face… After I regained consciousness, I didn’t know an odd or even number… what day it was and what had happened… I grieved my dream being snatched away again…

A year later, my brother died and I inhereted an 8 year old. I was living on my own, running my businesses and raising a child to the AMAZEMENT of my medical team.