Do residents make a salary?

Hello again!
The following question is very basic, but my husband and I are trying to figure out how long we will be without my salary should this whole “med school” idea come to fruition. I told my husband that it’s probably a given that I won’t work in med school, so that’s four years of belt-tightening. However, how about once I’m a resident? Can you share with me what the average salary is for a resident?
Also, if I wanted to go into academia, such as be a professor in a med school, what kind of residency would I go for? Are these professorships hard to get?
As always, thanks so much for the honest replies. Sincerely, Siobhan

Residents are employees of the programs they work for and as such, make a salary, get benefits, accrue vacation and sick leave (though to be honest you don’t see people taking sick leave except under dire circumstances). To find out about the wide variety of residencies available, and the salaries of different programs, look here. Average salary for a first year resident is upper 30s.
Mary

Mary,
Thanks so much for your reply. I’ve bookmarked the link you provided so that I can read through it without rushing. My husband, too, is quite interested in all of this stuff, and is getting more and more involved as I begin the process of registering for my pre-med reqs, so this information will be good to share with him, as well.
As always, thanks to all for sharing your thoughts and experiences. I don’t think that there could be a harder decision for me to make than whether or not to move forward in this process, so I thank you all for your wisdom, and good wishes…it makes me feel not quite so blind or naieve! Sincerely, Siobhan

In re: academia. The residencies to get to become a professor are more likely to:

1. be in large teaching hospitals affiliated with universities

2. include some research time in them

3. place lots of people in fellowships afterwards.