Does it matter where youtake your pre-meds

Hello to everyone. I’m a new member, and it’s great to be here.
I’m a 44 year old RN, who’s been in the nursing field for 23 years, and instead of going on for a NP, wants to do med school instead. However, I’m meeting a lot of resistance from nursing co-workers and supervisors regarding letters of recommendation, so that I can attend formal post-bac pre-med programs out of well-established universities. Trouble is, everyone thinks I’m a terrific nurse, but totally out of my mind for wanting to go to med school! I’ve found a local college, which isn’t nearly as “stellar” as the Ivy League program that I wanted, but they will admit me as an adult student, no letters required. There, I can take all the science courses that I need, but I am concerned that the school lacks the “dazzle” factor. I feel that my age may make it more difficult to be taken seriously, and going to a second-tier school may just comlicate it further. What do you think? Have you had any experiences? Where are you guys going for your pre-med sciences, and are you in an official program? Thanks so much, and I look forward to being an active member.

Hi,

It won’t matter where you take your required courses, unless you want to get into an Ivy leg medical school. Just do the best you can at the school you attend and you will be fine. Good luck. It is hard to change career paths especially when you meet resitance from your peers. Don’t worry about what they think, just do what your heart tells you to do. All my best

Amy

And welcome to OPM!!!

Quote:

Hello to everyone. I’m a new member, and it’s great to be here.