Ducks in a row!

Hi All,

So sorry I missed the conference this year, but I’ve been climbing out of a tunnel of work - I almost see the light! At long last, after four years with OPM and two graduate degrees and loads of debt, I’m ready to apply next spring for 2010… I hope.

BKGD: I graduated in '02 with a 3.1 (BCPM crushed by an F in Gen Chem), then took a few outside science classes (and retook the pre-req F’s) with a majority of A’s. I then enrolled in BU’s MAMS program with an MPH in Epidemiology, and after all that my post-UG BCPM is ~ 3.4. I have years of research and clinical work experience, and recs from employers and profs. I retook the MCAT this past August and I’m fairly pleased with my new score (B10/P9/V11 R, up from 26/0 in '05), so I’m waiting until spring to be first out of the gate for 2010. I took everyone’s advice, worked hard, and did the best I could.

My question - am I all set to apply to allopathic schools? Any possible additional things I should do before I apply (like retake the MCAT to break 10 in PS)? While I am applying to certain DO programs that I like, there are several MD programs that are at the top of my list, and I want to realistically be in the running for those.

Just thought I’d weigh in again with all the OPM Gurus!

Edit: Actually, the PG BCPM is very close to 3.5, but not sure if it breaks it or not.

Hey Joy!

Congratulations on being done with school/ degrees and the last MCAT score! I don’t think I would retake the MCAT. I don’t really think that 1 point is going to make such a huge difference; and you might risk having a bad day and possibly scoring less (which you don’t want to do).

It seems to me that your MCAT score is definitely in the range of many allopathic schools; good luck with your application process!

Kasia

Hi Kasia,

Good to hear form you again! I’m not one of those “stellar” OPM’ers who can manage a demanding career and still be online all the time, so I appreciate those who can.