Engineer from LA Asks for Advice to Turn Dreams into Reality

Hi Everyone,

I finally feel prepared to ask a few questions after reading the posted advice and doing a little research.

My background is a BSE degree and job in engineering (push from family), but after working I realized it didn’t fit. After some soul searching I have decided to pursue my dream of becoming a doctor (compassion, love of learning, motivated, science oriented person). Now I face the challenge of turning my dreams into a reality since I am a post bacc contender.

How do I make this transition?

My info: 1.) 24 yr old girl living in LA 2.) BSE from UofM (Ann Arbor) in Naval Architecture & Marine Engineering with an Econ minor GPA 3.48 2.) Volunteering while in school with a sexual assault and prevention awareness center facilitating presentations to student groups

My research: 1.) Located an informal program through UCLA extension to take required bio & chem courses that is cost effective 2.) Found a hospital volunteer program through UCLA in Santa Monica called CareExtenders

Beyond that I am lost! Any opinions on either of the UCLA programs I found? I have no real experience ie research/volunteering in a medical setting. How do I obtain this? As a post bacc where do your rec letters come from? With an informal program do the college advisers help you?

Any and all help is greatly appreciated! If you need more info just ask.

I am afraid I cannot render too much opinion on the specific LA programs of which you speak. But my own experience was in cobbling together classes at a combination of Community college and evening classes at local 4- year programs. My guess is the extension program may be fine.

your GPA is not super among med school applicants, but may be sufficient, esp if all the rest of things fit together well. (I.E. Mcat scores etc)