exam time - need reassurance

hi all - over the last year, this group has become an important part of my medical career. you supported me through the post-bacc year - thus assisting in my acceptance to medical school…
so here i am, a first year student with my first round of exams coming up at the end of this week. and i am scared beyond words. we have gross, histo, and embryology (a combined test of all three). the exam is worth 15% of our grade. i have taken a few practice exams and have not passed any of the exams as of yet. clearly, i have my work cut out for me in this coming week.
i was hoping those of you with experience might lend some reassurance - if i fail these first tests, i will be able to dig myself out of this hole. is it rare to find someome failing these first tests? i just feel like i don't belong in medical school. my background is pretty weak and i'm not good at memorizing. i think i'll shine in my third and fourth year but i feel like i might not make it there.
the second question i have is this: can you guys share pointers/lessons learned as you progresed through the first (and second years) on how to be an effective studier/learner/student. clearly, everyone learns differently but my strategy right now is clearly not working and i'd love some advice.
thanks all - hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend…
kelly

Hey Kelly,
It is not uncommon for first year medical students to fail an exam right off the bat. What you don’t want to do, at this point, is own failure. The first set of exams will tell you whether you are on the right track. You may need to take your studying to a higher plane or you may need to cut back a bit because you are overlearning. Just remember that it will be the first exams for everyone in the class. Everyone is doing the same adjustments that you are going through.