Expressing Interest to Schools

Hello, I’m just getting started with pre-med classes but I’d like to start communicating with some of the schools that I’m interested in so that I’ll know more so which ones I want to apply to when the time comes.

Does anyone have any suggestions on what to included an email? Right now I just want to express my interest in the schools (D.O.), and then ask who would be a good person for me to chat with to get a few questions answered about classes, meet-and-greet events, and financial aid.

Thank you!

Uncommon

A good place to start is by looking through the AACOMAS school publication:

http://www.aacom.org/news-and-events/publi cations/…

From there, I’d do more detailed research (i.e. school websites) on ones that stand out to you.

School open houses are good to attend if you live near any schools. I went to one and was able to have a one-on-one with the admissions director. I also sat through an online webinar hosted by one school. It was pretty informative.

Your best bet would probably be emailing the school admissions office via the address they have on their website. I’m not sure how much individual time they’ll give your questions since you’re not in the current application cycle, but it’s worth a shot. Of the few emails I sent to admissions offices, replies ranged from a couple of days turn-around time to no acknowledgement.

Good luck in your journey.

I agree with this, especially do some research ahead of time. You might jot down some things that interest you about their school and specific questions, including difference between instate and out of state tuition and criteria for instate status

If you have particular interests such as international short term medical outreach, rural medicine, etc, you can ask about opportunities at that school.

Kate

Thank you Kennymac and Kate for your wonderful guidance. Also, since I’m especially interested in D.O. Schools, would your advice be any different? Or is it about the same?