Extracurriculars while in grad school (and chances)?

Hi there, I’m in a similar boat as some others who have posted on here, but still one year away from getting my PhD in biochemistry at a top 5 institution (I would be 27 when I finish).

My uGPA is 3.1 from MIT, very low I know, but the grades there were severely deflated, and people have told me that some schools will look upon this reasonably if I have a good MCAT. I haven’t taken the MCAT yet, but my main concern is the “volunteering/clinical experience”.

I’m currently shadowing a very good doctor in a large hospital about 10-15 hours a month, but I’m not in a separate volunteer program. There’s just no time for me to study for my MCAT, stay on track in grad school, AND do a ridiculous amount of volunteering that would be comparable to the younger pre-meds in college.

I am a CA resident, but would be open to a wide geographical range. I’d prefer only M.D. programs.

Any advice on my chances or what to do here? I have a lot of other things I could ask about just making this decision to switch (in short, I don’t hate my current job and could see myself doing science- but I want to help people and want to see if medicine would be a good option), but for now I’m going to proceed with the process and see how I feel about it as I go along. Thanks a lot. I’ve gotten a lot of mean, aggressive comments over on SDN, and I like the community on OPM a lot more, so I’m trying my luck here.

Welcome to OPM! I am glad to hear that you like the atmosphere and environment here better than other places - I completely agree with you on that.

So, here are my thoughts. You definitely need volunteer experience. No question. Shadowing is great, but it’s not actually doing anything active with patients.