Finally found this site! And have lots of questions

Hello everyone. My name is Anita and I am 27yo (28 this year.) I have so many questions and am happy to have found a site like this.

A little on my background, I have a BS in mechanical engineering from Purdue and a GPA of around 3.0. (my grades were all A&B’s and then I got super lazy my last semester and ended up with pretty much all C’s. Of course at that point of my life I thought I would never go back to school again. I worked in the field, blah blah blah, the economy crashed and I went back to school to get my certificate in esthetics. I am in the process of opening up a little salon/yoga studio but I know that I’ll get bored with that in a couple of years and I have always wanted to go to med school but didn’t necessarily have an awesome support system (“well you know, medical school is for smart people”.) SO here I am.

If anyone could answer any of my questions, I would appreciate it!!

1. Do you have to have all your prerequisites completed before applying?

2. What about MCAT classes? Are they worth paying for and taking?

3. Here is my current timeline - does it sound good?

Fall 2012 - bio I, orgo I, sociology

Spring 2012 - bio II, orgo II, psychology, MCAT, and apply (should I be taking the MCAT’s in the fall and applying before finishing up my classes?)

4. Are there things I can do to up my chances of getting into school? Volunteer work? Lab work?

Thank you and I look forward to meeting everyone?

5. Am I the only one who keeps second guessing themselves?

Hi Anita. I’m new around here too and only a pre-med myself, but I’ll take a stab at some of your questions.

1. As far as I am aware, you do not have to have all your prereqs completed by the time you apply, but you DO need to have them all done by the time you matriculate.