Finally made the decision!

Hi everyone!
This is it! I have finally made the decision to become a physician. I’ve fought with myself about this for years.
I am 40 with a BS in Information Systems and an AS in Respiratory Therapy. My Respiratory license is still current and active - I’ve been a therapist for >10 years. I just graduated in 2002 with the BS degree. I have 3 children (1 deceased) - the remaining children are 18 and 15. They have been very supportive of me with this decision and it really feels good.
I have begun to scour the Internet for information and came upon oldpremeds.org. I was soooooo happy, I didn’t know what to do with myself! I thought to myself, “there are other people out there who have come to terms with the calling on their lives to help others, and they’re about my age!” What a find!
I have made plans to visit an institution 2 hrs away in July to checkout their post-bacc program. I’d like to attend at a location closer to my home, but I’m willing to make the trek. I’d like to start in the fall. I’m working to make it happen.
I am encouraged by reading the comments from this forum. Wish me well as I move out on my destiny! You all have my best wishes as well!
Lori Mitchell

Congratulations and good luck! I just made the decision to pursue medicine as well. I’ll be starting my pre-req’s in the fall. Isnt this exciting!!??

Lori: