financing the pre-bac program

Hello everyone,

My name is Ricardo and I’m 31 years old and work in higher education. I have a bachelor’s in finance and I’m completing a master’s in i/o psychology. I’ve decided to pursue med school because it has always been a passion of mine. I’ve researched post-bac programs and I think it’s the best route for me to go. Yet I’m concerned about the cost of the program ($20,000 plus). I have undergrad loans already (receive TA for grad school) and I’m not sure if I can receive financial aid for the post-bac program. Does anyone have any insight regarding subsidizing the cost?

Thank goodness for OPM!

Ricardo

First of all, welcome to OPM, Ricardo! We’re all glad to have you here.

I am currently in my second year of a formal post-bac program in the Chicago area. I did receive some government funding ($12,500 per year), but most of it I had to finance through private loans. Those have a higher interest rate than the gov’t loans, but I feel that it’s worth it, for me. As an FYI, I did have to have a co-signer (for both years), not because I had bad credit, but because the banks are really getting strict about such things. So that’s something to keep in mind as well - you may need to find a co-signer if you go that route.

There are also plenty of people here on OPM who have done informal post-bacs, so if the cost of a formal program doesn’t look feasible to you, you might consider looking at that as an alternative.

Again, welcome!

Thanks for the feedback Terra. I’ve researched post-bacc programs that have linkages, but it seems a bit much because I work full time. I like the idea of completing all of my prerequisites in 1 year though. Having said that, it’s good to know that financing is available. If I did the classes at a CC, then I could afford them out of pocket. Yet I’ve heard mixed opinions regarding science courses at CC (not trying to dive into that discussion).

Thanks again,

Ricardo