Firefighter Paramedic ------> Premed

Allow me to start by saying congratulations to all of you who have gone, and are going, down a very long road “less traveled by!” I’ve been reading post on this site for a while now and it’s extremely encouraging!

My name is Dan and I’m a firefighter/paramedic from GA. I’m 32 years old and have a B.A. in Music from Kennesaw State University (large 4 year university in Ga) from 2002. I have a 3.3 GPA from my B.A. and all of my post bacc stuff including my Paramedic degree is 3.83. I also went back and took precalc and calc from a community college and finished both with A’s. I’m currently enrolled in a private 4 year university taking Chem I and Bio I and, halfway through the semester I’ve got high A’s in both classes.

I’m both excited, and apprehensive, about what the future holds. I’m not married and I have no children so my life in many ways is somewhat simple. I am concerned about financing my education, however. My credit is perfect, but, as is the case with many I’m sure, I own a home and am not sure what to do with it if and when I get accepted into med school! If I do a short sale etc, will that effect my med school financing? Are there loans available for living expenses as well?

Any advice on this would be appreciated,

Sincerely,

Dan

Best of luck to all of you on your journey!

Dan,

I can tell you that for my school, financial aid was done very much similar to that as any undergrad education. They looked at my tax forms and I had to provide info regarding the amount of $ in my various accounts. So if you’re making $ on the sale of your home, it could affect your financial aid package.

Also, at least at my school, they did figure living expenses into the cost of attendance and financial aid was based on that, not just tuition.