Firehose of Information

When people in Medical School talk about the firehose of information that they have to ingest in medical school, it is very intimidating. How many hours do most medical students study?

Thanks,

Adam

Ditto this question - I’ve been apprehensive about this too.

Honestly, as many as you can stand. Some of us (including me) also need a little non-study time in order for the things we have studied to arrange themselves in our heads while we’re doing other things. So I study a few hours a day, and that’s it. Some days I accomplish nothing at all. I’m spending a lot more time studying right now, because I’m studying for boards and have no lectures to break up my day.

My roommate, on the other hand, leaves the house with food and two thermoses full of coffee before I wake up, locks herself in a study room at school, maybe comes home for a snack around 3ish, and then comes home usually when I’m going to bed.

I think we’re getting about the same grades. Her method would not work for me and mine would not work for her.

We’re all so different that I can’t begin to tell you what to expect.

• In reply to:
We're all so different that I can't begin to tell you what to expect.

I agree totally with what Denise said above. Every student in med school has to learn what works for them and what doesn't.

For me, in a PBL format and not a lecture based system, I spent about 8 hours a day with my books; but we only had about 16 hours of in-class time a week (9 of PBL group time; 3 of OMM lecture; 4 of OMM lab). I always tried to allow time for church on Sundays, because itwas important to me.

Students in the SBL, or lecture based, track were in class almost all day, every day. A lot of them spent a great deal of time in the evenings studying their stuff from the days classes.

But, like Denise said and I agreed to: Everyone has to learn what works best for them.