Forming a plan of attack (soliciting advice)

Hi All,

I’m brand new to the forum, and have been casually perusing for a few days.

An abridged about me: I’m in my 2nd year of law school at a highly regarded state school. Even before I committed to law school I sort of suspected that lawyering wasn’t really what I wanted to do with my life (in fact I told my parents that I would like to try taking pre-med classes before I enrolled, but they pooled their efforts and effectively bullied me into going to law school). Anyway, that nagging feeling that medicine is where I want to go hasn’t subsided (I wish it would’ve). I’ve decided that when I graduate from law school I need to try and get into medical school. I fear if I don’t I’ll regret it for the rest of my life. Whew…

So, I feel like I should prepare a plan for making a seamless transition from JD to MD.

My vital stats:

I had OK grades as an undergrad (a believe a 3.35, but my g.p.a. was over 3.6 for my last 2.5 years). I’m in the top half of my law school class.

I plan on finishing law school. I think I owe that much to my parents. I will have a little debt when I graduate–in the neighborhood of $20k–but nothing unmanagable.

Here’s what I don’t know. How should I go about starting my pre-med classes, building my application for med-schools?

I will probably need to take some sort of a legal job after a graduate (I’ll only be 24), but I’m not opposed to doing pro bono work, maybe even something tangentially related to the medical field (like with an AIDS outreach project or something). Should I start taking pre-med classes immediately after I graduate? I could concievably take my Bio and Chem classes the first year and work part time to pay down my debt, but I wonder how that will look to a MD admissions committee. I don’t want to give the impression that I’m forever vacillating between between careers, incapable of committing to anything.