Free med school

Hi guys,

So, I found out with certainty that, as a Texas veteran, I qualify for the Hazelwood Act, which is basically 4 years of tuition paid at any state school – including med school.

But, I’ll have to move back and take my premed prereqs in state, likely at UT Austin, which is a major headache, since each registration period would be a gamble to get the classes I needed – a lot of them fill up super fast. And it would be super DIY, and, as ridiculous as it might seem, the prospect of returning to that monster campus after my undergrad ten years ago is not very appealing. But, of course, I could suck it up if I had to – just don’t want to get locked out of any classes and stretch out my post-bac longer than it already is.

On the other hand, I’ve gotten into two formal post-bac programs with guaranteed classes, which are obviously more expensive, and they’re also out of state, so I would basically be ruling out getting into the Texas med schools, since they all take at least 90 percent residents.

And I keep thinking that almost every med school student finishes med school with significant debt they have to pay off, and that it’s ‘normal’ and not a big deal, and I should be sure to go to a school that I really want to go to, whether that’s in Texas or somewhere else.

But, then again… free tuition. More freedom after I graduate. Less crushing debt. And maybe what med school I go to doesn’t really matter…

Even if they might not be my top schools, am I crazy to turn that down?

Tough decision. Are you competitive to get into Texas instate for med school? If not, then a gamble. If you are, then may be worth it.

Just my 2 cents.

My $0.02:

Do whatever you can to minimize your debt burden. If that means Texas then go for it.

Debt can play a very important role in your decisions in med school and if you can go to med school debt free I see absolutely no reason why you wouldn’t.