From RN to MD?

I am a 34 year old male RN, just finishing up my BSN and soon to take post-bacc classes to satisfy the science pre-req’s for med school. I have all sorts of feelings about the issue: I’ve vacillated between being an ARNP and an MD, settling on MD because I don’t think I will ever be truly satisfied as an ARNP. I am nervous to tell any of my colleagues, for fear of being judged or worried that they wouldn’t approve. I am hoping that OPM will be a valuable resource during my journey.

Hi soulrider and welcome! I’m also a nurse working on some pre-reqs. I’ve had the same feelings going back and for between NP and MD. Keep us updated on your journey.

Welcome, welcome!! I’m sure you’ll find all sorts of colorful characters with different career histories, healthcare included.

Ask of us anything, and know that we’re all here to help each other.

God Speed!

Thanks everyone! I feel like all of the RNs to MDs should have some sort of subgroup to comiserate and help figure this thing out.

• soulrider Said:
Thanks everyone! I feel like all of the RNs to MDs should have some sort of subgroup to comiserate and help figure this thing out.

I 100% agree!! I am an RN/BSN type too and am working on my pre-meds as well.

I think all us RN's have the similar reasons why we want to become physicians. For me, I was tired of seeing treatable illnesses come into the ED that became so acute that I "knew" I needed to take the step and go into primary care. I remember doing patient teaching (something we RN's do ALOT) and the patient told me, "No one has ever taken the time to tell me that". Sealed the deal for me.

I, for one, am tired of playing the part of damage control for the impersonal physicians that I work with.

Ironically, medical school is supposed to screen those that have no interpersonal patient relationship skills. Ah well, se la vie!