Full-Time Working Mom of 2 Anxious About the Journey

Hi everyone,

My name is Johanna and I am thrilled to have found this community! I’m 33, have 2 kids, am working full-time, and fitting in my med school prereqs at about a rate of 1 per semester however I can - online, local community colleges. I earned a B.A. in English with honors back in 2003, but about 2 years ago made the decision to go for med school. I originally started on the PA track but decided that I wanted to go all the way with my education to further the good I could do in my community.

I am extremely anxious about this journey, although I’m incredibly excited about it, too. I have been working for a DPM for almost 3 years, alternating between MA duties and front desk ones. Because of my full schedule I haven’t found time to fit any “extracurriculars” in, which I know is a detriment. Any other working parents have suggestions on how to fix this?

I look forward to hearing, learning from, and communicating with you. Go, Old Pre Meds!

-Johanna

Reading through the stories of others, I have a few extra questions:

-Is it possible to get into med school given that many of my recent prereqs will be from local community colleges and not a 4-year university (My GPA when I received my B.A. in English from U of Michigan was 3.82 and my current GPA through my community college is 3.93)? Is online a viable format for prereqs?

-How relevant is my current job in the application process? As I mentioned, I work for a DPM who operates under a different code of ethics than my own. While I love the time I get to spend with patients, I am being squeezed out of my clinical role to do more administrative/receptionist work. I have struggled with whether or not to find another job, but because of the area that I live in I would be hard-pressed to find any other position that is medically related since I do not have any type of certification other than my CPR certification.

Thanks, everyone.