Gap Years: To take, or Not to take

Hello! It seems it’s been quite some time since questions have been asked about gap years, so I wanted to put forth my plans for gap years and whether there are any suggestions on this!

I’m currently a senior undergrad in the Honors College at my university. I’m going to list out my experiences and such - not for comparison but simply so that there’s a full picture to consider here.

• 2 volunteer medical/clinical
  • 3 volunteer nonmed/clinical, with one being a very major one
  • 2 extracurriculars, health-based clubs in which I’ve held exec leadership
  • 2 paid employment nonmedical/clinical
  • 1 research experience in a psych lab which I did NOT enjoy
  • 2 teaching/tutoring, one as a TA and one as a dissection assistant
  • 1 hobby as language learning/traveling. Note - I don’t have a ton of experience as all of my traveling trips are day-long trips, nothing immersive.

I am taking an extra semester to graduate. By the time I graduate I will have a B.S. Biology, B.A. Psychology, and minors in Analytical-Org Chemistry and Addiction Treatment. Currently, 3.8 GPA with an upward trend and have not yet taken the MCAT.

I am considering taking 2 full gap years.

For one gap year, I would be going to S Korea to teach English as a foreign language. For another, I would be focusing on medical/clinical paid employment and shadowing (which I have none). I have been teaching myself Hangul for a few months and aim to become as fluent as possible in Korean before medical school, and I also intend to apply for the HPSP scholarship and eventually join the USAF for medical school.

Any major thoughts or suggestions here? Any reasons why I shouldn’t continue as planned? I also would be happy to answer any follow up questions. TIA!