general information needed ASAP

Hello,

I am intending on applying to the Med School in the US. Here are my strengths but am still not sure whether i am competitive compared to the prospective applicants who are either US citizens or permanent residents.

Strengths:

1. I have done my undergraduate from outside the US (in Asia) with an Honors in Chemistry (Physics and Mathematics being the qualifying subjects with laboratories). Currently i am 30 years old.

2. My Masters’ degree is in Life Science from US (Behavioral Neurosciences), with a first author publication of my research work in one of the high impact journals. GPA was 3.62.

3. I am currently doing my PhD in Biomedical Research in a Med School, trying to understand the mechanism underlying epliepsy (Neurosciences). However, my goal is to venture into neurosurgery and become a Physician Scientist. Current GPA = 3.5

4. I had taken my MCAT two years back and my scores were Phy: 9, Bio9,Ver:6 and writing :Q. I am just not able to get beyond 6 in verbal because English is not my first language.

5. I have presented my research work in a couple of International meetings both in the US and outside.

6)I am the Vice President of the Council for Biomedical Graduate Students.

With all these credentials in hand, do you think i stand any chance of entering Medical School, considering that i am an international student. Everybody i have spoken have provided me with a very grim picture bcoz i am a non-resident alien trying to make a career medicine.

I will be applying for my permanent residentship in the US but it might take a while before that happens.

Please guide me. I am doing whatever i can do make my application as strong as possible.

Major Weakness: I am an international student.

Do you think American Medical Schools will entertain applications from international students like me who can demonstrate intellectual curosity and the burning desire to help the humanity by being a Neurosurgeon.

munmun