Getting Started

I’m brand new to this group, but after lurking here for a few days, I decided to give it a go. I graduated with aBS in Biology back in '93 with the intent of going to Med School. It never materialized. I don’t think the grades, drive, or maturity to prioritize my goals were there. My undergrad gpa was a dissapointing 2.88. Two years later, I enrolled and completed a certificate program in Clinical Laboratory Sciences (medical technology) at GWU with a 3.75 gpa. This was a great experience clinically.I went through the various departments in the lab (hematology, chemistry, blood bank, micro,urinalysis, etc.) rotating in them for about 6 weeks each during the course of a year. After passing the boards, the plan was to apply to med school afterwards while the momentum and grades were there. Never happened. I ended up working in lab, having kids, staying home for 6 years, then finally going back to the lab. I currently work in a hospital lab performing hematology analysis for in and outpatients. In the beginning, I thought it was enough to be contributing some clinical expertise, but not making any actual connection with our patients. Although I love the practice and the science of hematology, I am finding it to be not enough. Although being an MT is fine, I find it very limiting in the sense that beyond providing laboratory information, there isn’t much else you can do. At the age of 40, I am entertaining the thought of giving med school one last shot. I read some of the inspiring stories here and was amazed/humbled at what some of you have accomplished. I need some advice about post baccs and applying to schools inthe DC area.

Hi, barberry.

I can’t offer any advice on DC programs, but I did want to say “Welcome” and wish you much success in the journey!