Getting to the interview

So I’ve seen a number of threads and discussion about what to do at interviews, how to dress, etc. but for my life I can’t find details on what’s involved on actually getting there beforehand. A lot of that might be obvious to most, but my overly analytical mind coupled with being a neophyte when it comes to travel has me freaking out a little bit at the moment.

I got my second interview request today and so it seemed like a good idea to start booking flights and making hotel reservations and I quickly discovered that I don’t have any idea what I’m doing.

While the actual process of making these arrangements online is simple and straightforward enough, I’m not experienced enough with air travel/traveling out of state to really know everything that is involved here. My mother used to work for the airlines, and I went to NYC as part of choir tour in high school, so while I’m familiar with air travel in that I’ve been on a plane several times, I’ve never been responsible for having to get around or even worry about what was going to happen when I arrived. Furthermore, the last time I flew (with a group of 80 friends) was 2003, the time before that was 1992, and I imagine it’s safe to say things have changed since then.

Things that I’m trying to get a handle on, but cannot seem to find resources online that actually make coherent sense:

1. I’m working under the assumption that I want to fly in the night before. Both my interviews thus far start in the early morning (8am or earlier) and tempting fate by flying out the same day doesn’t seem like a good idea.