GPA And Which Schools to Apply to in NY Area

Hi all,

Well, I am writing because, despite having been an excellent undergrad and grad student in applied sciences, my performance in pure sciences, which I never had to do for some reason, 13 years later has been so much worse. I am sitting on a 3.0 science GPA, down from a 3.8 GPA where I graduated in the top of my program with numerous awards.

I work my buns off, but I honestly think that much of it is the highly competitive nature of the program I am in. I can’t seem to get above the curve in my classes. On the one hand, I do find my classmates are the smartest young whippersnappers I have ever gone to school with - but I don’t think admissions committees really care about where you went to undergrad, do they? Is going to an Ivy League school a factor, since we are graded on curves against really high performing students? Prior to the program, everyone in my class once got As - now only a quarter of us do. While I love my classes, my grades are getting me down. I now have four classes left, and am trying to decide if I should switch schools and drop the committee letter in favor of better grades?

Worse still is that my grades in bio - a subject I have historically excelled in, are my worst - high Cs. It is by far my most challenging class. The material is great, and I am learning so much, but the professor writes notoriously fierce exams.

Any experience or thoughts here would be well appreciated. Targeted advice/recommended steps would be particularly welcome. I have two labs and two physics classes (by far my worst subject, I fear) left to take and a year to try to build volunteer/work experience into my resume, as well as a somewhat accomplished career in service to underserved populations.

Also, assume I do reasonably well on the MCAT, which I know is now absolutely essential, are there any schools that will take a 3.0 science GPA (osteopathic or allo)?

Thanks!

MM

OK. First relax…