GPA Rehab possible?

I’m 26 and have ALWAYS wanted to go to med school. I took all the pre-reqs and the MCAT as an undergrad, but didn’t do well with either. My GPA was dismal and I had only a 22 on the MCAT. I applied and was rejected. A courtesy call from Penn State Hershey told me that I needed to enroll in a post-bacc program. I’m in my last semester of graduate school getting my teaching license and have a 3.9GPA. But I still feel unfulfilled. I’ve matured a lot and now realize that I really need to be a doctor more than anything. But what do I have to do to get there? My pre-reqs were taken between August 2001 and May 2004. Am I eligible for a post-bacc program? Everything I’ve seen is for students who don’t have all of the pre-reqs… Or do I need to let my previous science classes “age” a bit more before applying to a post-bacc so it is as though I haven’t taken any before because they would be too old? Any help is really appreciated! Thanks!

post bacc is for people who 1) do not have a background in science and need to take the pre reqs and 2) those that need to redo them and do better.

If your pre-reqs are sub par then you either need to repeat them and do well or give it time and take upper level, graduate level science courses to show that you can do the work. Either way, you need to show that you can do the work. This will take time, do not rush.

Thanks so much! If I take my pre-reqs again, can I take them two at a time? PSU-Hershey told me they needed to see that I could handle the heavy course load and that is why they referred to the post-bacc programs. Does working full-time, volunteering, and taking 2 science classes a semester show that? thanks for your help!

My opinion (and this is just one opinion) is that if you are going to do this right given your situation, you need to heed the advice of the medical school and enroll in a formal post-bacc program. That being said, I am unsure as to what your circumstances allow.