Heeding the call: Becoming a doctor at this Late Hour

I am just starting out on the road to medicine, and I have to admit that setting myself on this path has only recently occurred to me.

I wonder if that is rare, since becoming a doctor came to me as a cumulative awakening, not as a life long goal.

I hear alot of people here say ‘I always wanted to be a doctor.’ I didn’t always want to be a doctor, but I feel that it has been a very natural progression in my life.

Almost like the tide, coming in imperceptibly at first, but leaving no doubt upon its arrival.

I am curious of how others discovered that they were meant to be doctors…

How about you?

• Artman Said:
Almost like the tide, coming in imperceptibly at first, but leaving no doubt upon its arrival.

Hi Artman,

I think this succinctly and eloquently describes how I feel about my own passionate discovery for medicine. I always had a nagging, suggestive voice that persuaded me to medicine, but I think I was too hard-headed to listen. This was during my college years. Now that I'm older, I've wised up and decided to heed that calling and I think it has been the best decision of my life, thus far.

Good luck on your journey!!

fuzzy,

thank you for your response! It is comforting to know that the drive to medicine can be cumulative, as opposed to a life long obsession.

Once I finally came to the awareness that I wanted to be a Doctor, it made perfect sense, but up until that moment, it had never even occurred to me!

I guess I always kind of thought of being a doctor a bit like being an astronaut, very cool but way out of my reach. Not any more!

Good luck to you Fuzz, and all else reading these words.

’ I may be a dreamer, but I’m not the only one.’

• Artman Said:

I guess I always kind of thought of being a doctor a bit like being an astronaut, very cool but way out of my reach.

Hi Artman,