Hello everyone, age 31 and need help with what to do.

Hello Everyone,

I’m new here and looking forward to meeting some great people on oldpremeds.

Ever since I was young I have aspired to be an MD. My parents never pushed me or even mentioned it to me. It is just something that I was always interested in. I went to college, majored in biology, and fell in love with a girl (one of the major factors why I didn’t pursue medicine) that I’m now married to. After college I decided against pursuing my dream of becoming a physician and went to work in a different field (financial) in which I had some success in.

For the past year or so my dominating thought has been about going to med school and achieving my dream. It is a calling that is so strong I’m willing to give up just about everything for it. I’m not quite sure where to start. I graduated from college in 98’ with a degree in bio and most of the information is forgotten. Time is very precious and I can’t really afford to get another degree and then apply to med school. Somehow when I was in college I never took the 2 required semesters of organic chem (i took an elementary oro and biochem class instead) so I know i have to take those at a minimum.

Here is my profile (University of Delaware 1994-1998)Degree: Biology (Gpa=3.47)

peter white research fellowship (1 summer and fall research with the physical therapy department (back in 1998)

volunteer work at a hospital for inpatient/outpatient physical therapy (1997-1998)

worked full time as a physical therapy aide for about 8 months. (1998)

Currently

regional vice president for a financial company

Volunteer work: President of the Jaycees (a local group of young professionals age 21-40 specializing in leadership development and community service.

-Just got certified as an EMT-B at and am volunteering whenever I can at my local fire company.