Hello; New OPM Member here

Hello. Happy to find this site and I hope over the next “years” it will be a constant source of support.

My short story:

36 years old. Graduated in 1998 with a Masters in Engineering from University of Pennsylvania. Spent the last 13 years in the business world now running an insurance brokerage…and a lifelong desire to go into medicine.

I think I pulled the trigger on it today when I admitted myself to a local university.

So here are my questions and concerns:

*) I graduated with a 3.75 from a pretty decent school…but

*) I now live in El Paso. The local university (UTEP) isn’t bad, but definitely isn’t “top tier”. Am I killing myself by taking the bio/chem/pre med reqs here instead of picking myself up and going to a higher caliber University. I’ve succeeded at a top tier place…but that was 15 years ago. Thoughts???

*) I’d love a few words of encouragement “36 isn’t too old to start” kinds of things. I see plenty of 40+ year olds posting on here, but I could use some of the love too

*) I would prefer MD. I would be satisfied with DO. At 36, I need 2 years for pre-reqs, which means starting around 38 or 39. I know “officially” MD schools don’t discriminate with respect to age…but if I was looking for an “official” answer, I wouldn’t be on here. Any comments? This is particular to Texas based schools.

*) I get plenty of older folks go to med school and get through residency. But, what about reasonable fellowships and specialties. I’m not sure I want to stop at a general family practitioner.