hello! question about pre-reqs

Hello,

I have a question about pre-reqs. I graduated from college about 3 years ago in economics and a minor in sociology. I have been working at a firm since then. I graduated with a 3.4gpa. As a requirement for my graduation I had to take a science class with a lab so the only class I took was physics which was IMPOSSIBLE for me and I got a D, which was just enough for me to graduate. I have decided that I don’t want to keep working for money. I really don’t care about it, I want to become a doctor and help people, it has been a dream of mine since I was a kid and now I think that I have made up my mind. My question is that I graduated with a “science GPA” of 1 because I got a D in that class… and I have read around that post-bacc work isn’t as important as undergrad work. So how will this affect me in applying to med school since I have a horrible undergraduate science GPA?? should I even bother…? BTW I am really interested in becoming a D.O.

Hi firose386 and welcome!

Well, first I think you will need to retake that Physics. You’ll want to take all of the prereqs (Biology I/II, Gen Chem I/II, Organic Chem I/II and Physics I (again) and II.) Your ugpa isn’t that bad at 3.4 either. You only took the one science class so I wouldn’t freak about that now…plus since you want to go the DO route (as I do too!), you can replace your Physics grade to get a recalculated science GPA (and overall too).A suggestion might be to go for a second bachelors degree. DO schools seem to be more nontrad friendly and I don’t think that you have anything to worry about yet. Just do the best that you can on the science prereqs and the MCAT and get some clinical experience too (i.e. volunteering in a hospital).

Looking forward to seeing you around more!

Kris