Hello

Hi All,

I have been lurking on these forums for awhile. I am so glad to have found Oldpremeds! I have been an RN for 10 years. I am 40 years old and I have gone to medical school overseas in the Caribbean and completed 2 years of basic sciences. I did well which was good because I had to do the MBA at the same time to pay tuition for med school. Came back to the states and long story short, met my husband, had a baby and put med school on hold. I am not willing to leave my family so I have to start all over again. I am studying for MCAT, I have to take Bio I, II and Chem I over as they are very old. The rest of my pre reqs are under 10 years old. I was thinking of taking a Masters of Science in Biology to make my application more competitive. I just need some advice because I know its harder to get into school over here. I know for a fact that I can complete my basic sciences over once I get into school again, I just want to make my application look better. I work with the geriatric population doing home health care. I work independently everyday and try to keep my patients alive and out of the hospital. Like I said, I want to finish medical school because that is my passion. I can go back to my old school but I know I am not going to leave my baby and husband. Does anyone have an opinion on the Masters of Science in Biology or to do something else?

Thanks so much!

Welcome. My one question before we get started is did you officially un-enroll from the school you had previously attended? Did you leave in good terms? The reason being, if you were dismissed then you would have a much harder time than if you were not.