Hello

Just introducing myself. I’ve never been on an internet forum before so bear with me.

I’m 33, and have decided I want to go to medical school. I received an associates degree in 1997, so I imagine I will have to start all over again. My last semester in junior college was an absolute disaster as I never thought I would have the opportunity to return to college so made no effort whatsoever. I’m not sure how much this will hurt me now.

I would like to start this summer. I know I need to do the prerequisite coursework, and get a BA/BS, but I’m not sure what the best route to take with that is. I’m leaning toward nursing, as that would be my backup plan at this point. Any thoughts?

Welcome!!! I am sure that you will find this forum as supportive and encouraging as I have…It’s full of wonderful people with lots of wisdom!

I’m just beginning my journey, but I just wanted to welcome you as you start yours! As for your question… just one thing to offer for your consideration: nursing is a truly valuable field, and I respect every nurse I’ve ever met or worked with. They work hard, and their contribution to patient care is unbelievable. Definitely a worthwhile profession! Having said that, the work of a nurse is quite different from the work of a physician. If what you really want to do is the work of a physician, but you default to your backup plan without even trying–will you always look across the exam table at the physician you are working alongside with deep feelings of regret? (Or even the opposite–if you go for an M.D., will you regret not being a nurse? Only you’ll know that answer for sure…)

I guess you just have to figure out what work you really want to do, and aim for that. Shadow some physicians and nurses, and really get a feel for the educational and training paths, and lifestyles, for both. I’m guessing that you’ll know for sure either way what will be best for you!

Good luck!