Help! - Advice for career changer

Greetings! I am new here and looking at my options for going back to school. A little background about myself; I graduated back in 2008 with a BBA in business economics (overall gpa was 2.8) from a 4 year state school. I switched my major a lot in college as I was very lazy and lacked any direction. I was actually a pre-med/bio major at one point. In fact, I have already taken about half of the prereqs. I have always been an intelligent person but when I was younger I was ignorant and lacked any self discipline. I am a little older now and I really feel that if I went back to school I would be able to do considerably better. My question is what would make me more attractive to medical schools? Should I go back and just finish the prereqs, should I look for a post-baccalaureate program, or should I pursue a second degree (i.e. bs in biology w/ premed emphasis)? Also, I have a family member who is a nurse and she thinks it would be good for me to get a bsn. This would take longer to complete than just a degree in bio. I know everything else is equally important, volunteer/intern/work exp/mcat scores/interview/letters, but right now my biggest concern is my academic history.

I’m not an adcom but generally speaking you can have a degree in whichever area you choose as long as you meet the course requirements for the med school. Often, premed students will major in Bio because of the coursework overlap. Your GPA would be the biggest concern in my opinion.

AAMC and AACOM publish statistics related to GPA and MCAT scores for prior years’ applicants and matriculants.

That is why I was thinking about the second degree. More classes means more opportunities to raise my GPA. On the other hand, I hope that by doing well in the prereqs, schools would be more forgiving of my older grades.