Help, Advice Please!

I am a 34-year-old attorney. I am stuck in a dead-end job. I read documents all day alone in an office and research other documents. My career is hopeless and I’ve come to hate the legal field with a burning passion. I graduated from law school in 2007. During undergrad, I majored in an easy humanities subject because I was afraid of the sciences. Thereafter, I decided to go to law school because it was the only good post-secondary option for a humanities grad. I graduated in 2007 near the top of my class, but have been stuck ever since in a mind-numbingly boring job with $50k in student loan debt. Recently, I took some evening science and math courses at a local community college and loved them and did very well. In about 6 years I will have my loans forgiven b/c I work in public service. Is it crazy for me to want to go back to school and ultimately try to get into medical school? I would love to be in a challenging new career path where ultimately I can work with other human beings and help them. But can someone near 40 by that time really go to med school? Are there other paths I should consider? Pharm/P.A.?

Vince - yes, you certainly can get into med school at “near 40”. It’s good you have some time to build a great application.

You will need the science prereqs: 2 semesters with lab of Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Physics, and Biology. The biology should include cell biology and genetics (many intro bio courses too). Also, biochemistry could be helpful. You need some intro psych and soc as well (which you may well have). Most med schools do NOT require calc physics -non-calc is fine.