HELP! C average non-trad

Hello everyone,

I’m soooo grateful to have found this board. I need some suggestions on a course of action; Please forgive me if this seems a bit long: I graduated 6 years ago with a BA in French and almost all of my pre-reqs completed. I started out as a double major in Biology (pre-med) and French, but dropped out of pre-med because I kept getting C’s in all of the science courses (I was still learning English back then and had a huge language barrier: french is my first language). So here I am, 26, fluent in English and ready to start over in getting ready for medical school. I’ve been doing some research and reading this board and from what I learned I don’t seem to qualify for post-bacc programs since I completed almost all pre-reqs (chem I and II and labs, bio I and II and labs, Physics I and II and labs, organic chemitry and calculus I). The HUGE problem is that I earned C’s or B-'s in all of them (cumulative graduation GPA: 3.04 with all A’s in my other major). SO, Should I take my chances and apply to medical schools after taking the MCAT(I’m currently a high school science teacher who took science tests to get accredited, so I should be fine, I think) or should I go back to school and take upper level science courses to improve my science GPA and get acquainted with professors who could give me letters of recommendation?

Thank you all for your advices and suggestions.

Not sure what exact advice to give, but there are post-bac programs that are dedicated to help boost your academic records. The aamc website should be able to help you track these down.

Hi Jo.