help i'm lost!

this is my first time on and I’ve got a bunch of questions!

1. How do I find out when I can apply to schools on aamcs?! I know i can start adding informaiton now, but I was told i can’t submit anything until June, is that true?

2. I graduated with a bio degree 3 years ago and have taken the mcat 3 times (18, 18, 22) My overall gpa is 3.2 ( what’s a good site to calculate my science gpa?) I have 3 years of research experiance, I’ve got to volunteer in the clincs over in africa and I’ve volunteered in the ER for sometime. Any suggestions on schools, MD/DO or other alternative routes to get me in, that i can consider besides the carribean?

3. how many letters of rec is too much? I’ve got 8.

thanks!!

Just glancing at your MCAT, I think you need to improve by taking a prep course. 18-22 is on the low side and will significantly hurt your chances of admission. If you look at the admission stats on various school websites, the average is around 26 or higher. Your GPA could improve a bit too. Maybe aim for 3.5 or higher and take some additional science (upper level) courses. Your volunteer experience/research is a plus. Overall, I think you’ve got to bring that MCAT up.

• ramyakumar Said:
this is my first time on and I've got a bunch of questions!

we'll try and give you a bunch of answers

• In reply to:
1. How do I find out when I can apply to schools on aamcs?! I know i can start adding informaiton now, but I was told i can't submit anything until June, is that true?

the AMCAS system for most US-based medical schools does not allow submission on the online application until early june (this year is june 1st I believe). Are you referring to submitting materials such as transcripts? That can begin in early May (this year I believe it is May 4th). It has been also recommended that you do not submit on the very first day but wait a few in case glitches in the system.

• In reply to: