Hi Everyone

New to here. Totally amazed and inspired.

Have always been thinking about being a doctor since I was 9. Why didn’t I go that route to begin with? a very long story… Majorly because fear…too hard, me not smart enough, way too long&painful of a process…etc.

However, medical world still amazes and fascinates me. I have a great desire in medicine and great curiosity to everyone who is in medical field around me. Even constantly checking&following stranger physicians’ blogs.

I kept telling myself all the time…“It’s impossible. Stop dreaming.” I am 31 now and still can’t get rid of the feeling of wanting to be a doctor. It must mean something.

My background is a bit different.

I got my BA in religious studies from Taiwan, came to Canada at the age of 25. English is my second language. Then, I did some miscellaneous jobs (cashier, BestBuy, Forever 21…etc) for 2 years (English wan’t good at that time) and got hired as a Bank teller. I have been with the bank for 4 years now. During these 4 years, I took many business courses part-time, worked towards to CFP(Certified Financial Planner) designation and was going to continue to pursue an accounting designation. I have a great job as a Financial Planner and make good money now.

All of sudden, I decide to be a doctor.

Yes, it’s very scary. I don’t know what I am giving up and what I will be ending with.

First of all, I don’t have any Science background. I need to go back to take high school Bio, Chem, Physics and Math. I plan to get those done in a year while still working full-time as a “Financial Doctor.” (Sorry, I just have to call myself a doctor already.:P) I plan to apply for a good Provincial University BSc program. Then finish my pre-req & MCAT.