Hi there.

Hello! Until a few days ago, I was a regular at another popular forum for pre-meds, but found a link to this forum in a post, and after reading around for a bit I can say that it’s good to be here! The “other forum” is ripe with a very cynical, and for some reason jaded, younger crowd, such that I usually have to sift through threads to find appropriate/informative answers to questions. So far it seems like OPM doe not quite match the cynical magnitude of the other said forum.

For anyone who feels like commenting:

I am a veteran (two tours with 3rd bn, 1st mardiv, L co, as a navy corpsman), 26, and almost 2 years into my time in college. I am a cell/molec bio major (I’ve heard all the hype about why you should NOT choose biology as a major, but honestly it is what I am most interested in…I love studying the cell!!), plenty of experience as a pcp for a platoon of marines, and maintaining a 3.8 GPA right now.

As of lately, I figured out that I am horrible at calculus (I have nearly no background in math…I came close to failing out of high school and the college I just transferred to pushes its students really hard…I think they call it “academic rigor,” whereas I call it a fantastic over-expectation for a bachelor’s degree…here I am though and here I will have to stay) so my overall GPA will suffer, but I chose to push through it instead of taking a W because it is revealing my weaknesses as a student, which I intend on using to better myself for the big day when I start med school classes. That, and if I withdraw the VA will want their money back, which I cannot afford, with a wife and all.