Homeless Applicant

I am a nearly 35-year-old prospective applicant with a less than desirable academic history for medical school purposes. I graduated from undergrad in 2009. My undergrad GPA is 2.79. In 2013 I went back to school to complete a post-bac program in biomedical science. I graduated in 2018 with a 3.17 GPA.

I feel like the reason for my academic scores is directly attributed to struggles I have been working to overcome while trying to make something of myself in the classroom so that I can be someone in life.

I attended 14 different schools between kindergarten and dropping out in 12th grade to earn my GED. I stopped because I needed full-time income to afford room and board; additionally, it was a requirement at the homeless shelter I was living in during Fall 2004. I lived in a lot of group homes as a child and as an adult. Mom gave up her rights to me when I was born, and she didn’t know who my father was. I have had very little in the way of a support network. A volunteer at the shelter helped me enroll in a community college in the Spring of 2005. Because of this, I started college at a four-year university in Fall 2005, just like the rest of the college-bound seniors in my graduating class.