How do I get started ?

Hello everyone,

I’ve been browsing this site for years, but never had the courage to post anything. Like everyone here I also dream of someday attending medical school and becoming a doctor.

Medical school has been on the back of my mind since I was in my late teens and that dream has never left me. I think about medical school every day and what a privilege it would be to help heal people. I was never good with numbers and all math classes caused me a great deal of anxiety. I found science fascinating, but figured If I’m not good at math then for sure I’m not smart enough to major in the sciences. As a result I got a bachelors in Sociology and Anthropology [from a top 50 school] and ended with a sad 3.09 GPA. I then decided to attend grad school so I applied to a Masters program in social work, because again I felt I wasn’t smart enough to take the science classes needed for med school and at least as a social worker I would also be able to help people.

Currently I am in my last two semester of the MSW program at a high ranking top 20 University with a 3.945 GPA and will likely graduate with deans recognition. I’m doing my internship at a psychiatric clinic, but I know deep down this isn’t what I want to do for the rest of my life. The though of settling makes me very sad. All I can think of is the fact that I can’t wait to finish this program so I can start taking the med school pre-reqs.

I am 32 years old with no children. I have no science background except for a intro to biology class I took 9 years ago at a community college and in which I got a “D”. I took a calculus class in college, but the professor graded on a curve and somehow I ended up getting an “A” without really deserving one as I feel completely incompetent in this subject.