How much easier to get into your state's schools?

Dear friends,
Is it substantially easier to get into the state supported medical schools where you reside? What do you think?
As always, thank your for the advice. I hope to one day meet all of you on the other side of this fence.
Bill

In my opinion, YES as long as you are in the competitive range.

Except for us folks here in California sad.gif

For NC I can quote some statistics for you right from the MSAR. For the 2002 entering class: (160 spots)
In state:
Applicants 744
App Interviewed 435
Accepted 143

Out-of-State:
Applicants 2280
App Interviewed 103
Accepted 17
Therefore, ergo and hence as an NC resident I have a 1 in 2 chance of being interviewed and a 1 in 8 chance of being accepted. If I was not a resident of NC, I would have a 1 in 23 chance of being interviewed and a dismal 1 in 135 chance of being accepted. Tell me where you live and/or would like to go and Ill give you the stats for your state.
DRD

The Univ of Maryland give preference to Maryland residents only if thet meet their standards and makes it clear to students who do the admissions lunches that they will take out-of-state students if they are better qualified. The stats that I pulled from the school's website is:
# states represented by student body: 49 (plus several foreing countries)
Class of 2006 In-state/Out-of-state: 87%/13%
I have been pleasantly suprised at the diversity of places my classmates come from considering that I go to a state school.
Tara

It really depends on which state you’re in.
Some states are much easier than others. It usually comes down to a numbers game.
(Number of schools in the state vs. number of applicants).
Here’s a link to AAMC’s site listing applicants by state of legal residence and
their in or out of state matriculation status based on 2002 data. AAMC Data

Jeff in Seattle

For my state school in Oklahoma, they accept 50% of all in-state applicants.
For out of state its something like 15%