How to Proceed?

Hi everyone,

Really great site, and I’ve enjoyed perusing the very thoughtful posts and responses.

Like many of you, I’d like to enter med school, but am unsure of where to begin. I’d very much appreciate any advice.

I graduated ten years ago with a BA in English. My GPA was 2.9. I had only two science or math courses, and before that, I had little math in high school.

I joined the military shortly after, and served four years as a medic. Part of my training included paramedic certification, accredited by a university, in which I was the honor graduate, as well as extensive field experience, both abroad and in the US, in combat, at hospitals, and on ambulances. I found great fulfillment in helping others.

After the military, I went to a graduate school for film, received my MFA, and am currently working as a writer.

But, I continue to feel the pull back to medicine and my desire to help others.

My questions and concerns: I’m 33 now. My undergraduate GPA of 2.9 is poor (although, my paramedic course grades were high and I found that I excelled in all the coursework and training). I have never been particularly strong at math, physics, or chemistry. That being said, I think that had in large part to do with study habits while I was younger, and I believe I could be strong in those areas with some work – but, I would be starting from nearly scratch.

From what I’ve read here, a postbacc seems like a good option. But, I feel like I would need some preparatory courses even to be ready for it, and wonder if even then whether I would have a shot at being accepted.

With all of this in mind, any advice on how to proceed, if at all?

Perhaps study up on algebra, pre-calc, calc? Or physics? Maybe try a course or two at a local college to see if it might be pursuing more seriously?

Thank you so much for your help.

One of the non-trads in my first year class was a military medic as well.