I am doing this.

Hello all,

Found out about this forum from the Medical School HQ podcast. Great show, if you haven’t checked them out.

I am 29 year’s old with a Bachelor’s in Industrial Design. I have been working in military aviation design/logistics for seven years and never felt content with what I was doing. I joined a specialized rescue squad call the Huntsville Cave Rescue Unit (hcru.org) and the HEMSI High Angle Rough Terrain Team (no longer in operation).

My first rescue was at a cave called Iron Hoop.

[dir=rtl:3ecdurkt]National Geographic image of Iron Hoop[/dir:3ecdurkt]

A caver had fallen and could not self rescue, so we were asked to go in after him. I learned a lot on the rescue including;

• I overheat easily (now I just wear a t-shirt and an under-layer)

• I should not go in without knee pads (ouch).

• Crackers are terrible to bring in because by the end it just turns to powder in your bag.

After a mile of crawling on river rocks (remember, no knee pads) We found the patient. I will call him Jim. Jim had a massive hematoma around his posterior lumbar region, vitals were stable, and he was alert and oriented. We packaged him and hauled him back towards the entrance. Due to the fact that there was a mile of wet crawling, the patient was transferred using a technique called lap passing which looks a lot like one of those belt driven walkways you see in airports but using people's laps instead.

six hours later and he was out and on his way to the nearest hospital. Find out later he had fractured a vertebrae, but he would go caving another day.

Through all the hell of hauling this patient out of the cave; as soon as I reached him and until I transferred care, all I was focused on was his comfort and how he was holding up. I couldn't feel my aching knees. I didn't notice the time or wonder when I was going to eat, I just focused on him. I was completely happy. For the first time since college, I was happy doing something.

So, I pushed further.