I did something I never thought I would do...

…and perhaps more significantly, I convinced myself that there would never be a need for this. I looked down upon it, for myself, in my own mind. I had a creeping thought, hiding in deep mental recesses, that has now been identified through my current academic struggles, which is that this thing I have decided to do is only for people who aren’t sure that they can make it to med school.

I looked at alternatives to med school. There it is. This is a big deal to me.

I decided to do this because the bad exam scores keep coming. Greek is hammering me, and I just…don’t…get…it. It’s not going to get any better, therefore the gpa is going to go down, yadda yadda. I was a confident A student prior to this semester, so my confidence and ego is getting blown to pieces. This is not easy for someone who came from the Stoic ideologies of the military.

I haven’t given up on med school, but I did make this decision as I reflected upon how stressed this all makes me. More importantly, that stress, when vented, flows right into my wife and infiltrates into her attitude. Not good. I placed this decision into my mind as a pressure relief valve of sorts, for when the pressure to perform (am I the only one who thinks that the bar is set WAY to high for ordinary people like me?? How in the world did it happen such that, although schools say that a C is “average” what they push in ideology is that an A- is “average” and C is failing??) becomes to great and begins to affect my mood outside of class, I can remember that there is always post-bacc if I screw it up. A longer route indeed, but definitely worth my and my wife’s sanity. I hate negative stress…it does funny things to me like make me really sleepy and eliminate my appetite.