I need help...and not just psychiatric

Hi everyone.
I am in dire straits here and I need to vent out my feelings and see if anyone can help me here. I am an RN so I have had some bio. I started pre-med classes this semester, I have been out of school for 5 years. i am a 2-year RN so I need to get a bachelors. I have had the worst anxiety and procrastination when it comes to studying. I am taking bio and o-chem(wrong thing to do my first semester back). I studied for my bio exam the week before the test and read all the chapters for the first time and then did very poorly on the test. I am so far behind on my o-chem it is not even funny, i did not take the first test because you can drop one test and I was no where near ready for it. I feel so bad these past couple days that i have come close to giving up my dream of med school. I do not have kids, am divorced, and I am just so worried now. When I studied for my bio exam I felt like I studied well, I just know that I cannot study the week before the test. has anyone else had a really bad first semester back to school? i feel things will improve if I just get into a study schedule but it is so hard with work and all. I could really use some words of advice and a pick me up here…and maybe a couple Xanax…LOL. Thanks everyone!

Hi! First off take a deep breath and try to relax (i know, i know…easier said than done ). It sounds like you definitely jumped into the deep end for your first swim (pardon the pun). The first semester, heck even the first year back, is generally the most difficult…especially since you have been out of school for 5 years. That’s the good news. Definitely don’t give up your dream yet, especially since you still have to get a bachelor’s. You have plenty of time to “make up” for a not so great first semester if you don’t pull it out by the end which I still think you can do btw .