I wanted to ask you guys about your course load

With the amount of information thrown at you during medical school, and the number of tests…does it almost feel like you’re cramming for every test?
What I worry about is learning things “for the time being” instead of having things locked in my brain for a while and through the remainder of med school, residency, and practice.
Or, do clinicals help solidify things?
Thanks

Quote:

With the amount of information thrown at you during medical school, and the number of tests…does it almost feel like you’re cramming for every test?
What I worry about is learning things “for the time being” instead of having things locked in my brain for a while and through the remainder of med school, residency, and practice.
Thanks

Hi there,
During first and second year, I studied almost every day. After the first week, I devised a plan that enabled me not to cram. It was along the lines of preview, listen to lecture, study lecture, review and then start the process over again the next day. On the weekends, I reviewed the previous weeks work.
I also studied like the exam was two weeks before the actual exam. By doing this, I was usually more than prepared by the time the actual test came along. Again, I reviewed often and kept up. In medical school, if you get behind, you can wind up in dire straits.
Most people fail out of medical school because they do not put in the time required to master the material. While you can’t learn everything and while you can drive yourself crazy trying to learn everything, you reach a compromise where you know what each chunk of material demands and you give it.
While I never felt totally prepared for any exam, I always felt like I gave it my best shot. I didn’t pull allnighters and I was never a person who crammed. Cramming only puts things in your short-term memory and can bite you on USMLE.