If I did poorly in a class....

will I get a chance to explain myself? Here’s my situation: After I graduated from undergrad and was two years into my job as an insurance analyst, I took a COBOL I programming class at a community college because I thought it would help with my job (we were working with a lot of software systems).

Mid-way through the course (and after the add/drop/withdrawal period), I got transferred to another city. The professor said I could complete the class via mail, but life happens, and I never finished it. So, I got an F for the class (Ouch!).

I have a 3.5 cumulative pre-pre-reqs (and not counting this F)…but the med schools will see this on AMCAS. So, do you think they’ll give me a chance to explain?

I never thought about that class until now because I could really care less about computer programming. If anything, the class taught me how much I did not enjoy it.

Will this F put me out of the running for med school? I’m so worried about it now (woulda, shoulda, coulda - urgh).

Sorry but I’m afraid it counts toward your GPA. There are various threads discussing whether to point out such things on your personal statement and how to phrase it. But the bottom line is that the GPA number is fixed. The only recourse you have is to retake the course if you’re applying osteopathic because AACOMAS lets you substitute new grades for old, whereas AMCAS does not.

Though it’s worth noting that one F is not the kiss of death, either. If it were, many of us would not be here .

• ForTheGreaterGood Said:
will I get a chance to explain myself? Here's my situation: After I graduated from undergrad and was two years into my job as an insurance analyst, I took a COBOL I programming class at a community college because I thought it would help with my job (we were working with a lot of software systems).