I'm a Genuinely Positive Person, BUT.....What If I Fail?

I’ve taken Ryan’s advice to heart, and believe that a back-up plan will hurt my chances. Not begrudgingly, either! I was already convinced of this myself before I heard him say it several months ago, so it was great to hear my instincts confirmed. As a 35-year-old nontraditional convinced beyond all shadow of a doubt that I’m called to serve others as a physician, I eat, sleep, and breathe this journey every second of every day. Yet there are those moments when the still small voice of doubt whispers in my ear a little louder than usual…what if I fail?

This is second trip through undergrad to earn my pre-reqs, and at the end of this summer semester my federal loan eligibility will cut off (factoring in my earlier undergrad years, there is a $57,000 cap I’ve now reached). I’ve needed to give up my full-time job so I can go to school full-time as well as shadow, volunteer, and scribe, and am supporting myself almost entirely on private loans. I have a solid two years remaining before I can take the MCAT, and by the time I enter med school I’ll be on the hook for $100,000 in additional private loan debt to cover tuition and living expenses BEFORE I even start medical school! (As such, I’m strongly considering NHSC and entering a primary care specialty to remove the looming specter of med school debt.)

I have no qualms whatsoever about taking on this debt because I know this is what I’m supposed to do. But the naysayer voice within that says I can’t do this, that tells me just to give up after another sleepless night, simply will not stop asking WHAT IF I FAIL? I exercise regularly, try to limit caffeine, and eat healthy (I was a personal trainer for years), so I do all that I can to alleviate stress. What other suggestions do you have to shut up this voice??

Thanks!